How Much Do KDP Puzzle Books Make? Real 2024-2026 Reports
How much KDP puzzle books make, from real income reports: $7.89 to $26K months, the $9.99 royalty cliff, BSR sales estimates and what top earners do.
From puzzle book to sales
Build once, sell on Amazon KDP
Build it in Book Studio
Your puzzle book
Download the files
Upload to Amazon KDP
Earn on every sale
Free to try
Build this book free in the PuzzlePage Book Studio
18 puzzle types, KDP margins and a full-wrap cover. Download the first 10 pages and the cover free.
For publishers: Build a book free in the Studio·Ready-made book templates·KDP calculators·Books made here
How much do KDP puzzle books make? The honest answer is "less than the YouTube thumbnails suggest, and more than zero if you do the boring parts well." This guide pulls together every public income report we could verify, the royalty math that decides what you keep from each sale, and what the publishers at the top actually do differently.
Every figure below links to its source with a date. Where a number is a model estimate rather than a reported result, we say so. Several of the people quoted also sell courses about publishing, and we flag that too, because it changes how you should read their numbers.
📌 Key Takeaways
- Most self-published authors earn very little: 44% make under $100 a month (Written Word Media, 2025).
- Named puzzle and low-content publishers report anywhere from $7.89 in a first month to $26,257.92 in one December.
- Since June 10, 2025, KDP pays 60% at $9.99 and up but only 50% below it, so $9.98 earns a full dollar less than $9.99.
- Advertising can swallow half your royalties; one publisher spent $309.35 to earn $614.58.
- Series, Q4 timing and large print are what the steadier earners have in common.
- 44%Under $100
- 12%$100 to $500
- 11%$500 to $1K
- 20%$1K to $5K
- 5%$5K to $10K
- 8%Over $10K
Source: Written Word Media 2025 indie author survey (1,346 authors)
KDP paperback, 100 pages
50% royalty below $9.99
$1.70of $7.99
KDP paperback, 100 pages
60% royalty at $9.99 and up
$3.69of $9.99
KDP large print, 150 pages
$4.39of $11.99
Examples at the stated price, from each platform's published fees (checked September 2026). Fees change; check before you price.
How much do KDP puzzle books make on average?
There is no official average for puzzle books, because Amazon does not publish one. Our read of the public reports below is that a well-run puzzle title earns roughly $20 to $70 a month, and a volume catalog of quick books averages closer to $45 per book over its whole life. Treat those as estimates drawn from a handful of people, not a promise.
The broader surveys cover all self-published authors, not just puzzle books, but they show the same shape. Income is heavily skewed: a small group earns a lot and most earn very little.
| Survey | Finding | Who it covers |
|---|---|---|
| Written Word Media, 2025 | 44% earn under $100 a month; 20% earn $1,000 to $5,000; 8% earn over $10,000 | Indie authors of all kinds |
| Alliance of Independent Authors | Median self-published author income of $13,500 a year | Members of an author association, who skew toward established writers |
If you remember one number from this section, make it the 44%. Nearly half of self-published authors earn less than $100 a month, and puzzle books, which are faster to make and easier to copy, are not exempt from that.
Like this? We send 10 of these every month.
Free printable puzzles, answer keys included — same quality as the ones in this post.
One email. Unsubscribe anytime.
Real KDP income reports from named publishers
These are the most useful public reports we found from 2024 to 2026, with the catalog size behind each number. Catalog size matters more than the headline, because $600 from 14 books is a very different business from $600 from 400.
| Publisher | Period | Catalog | Royalties | Ad spend | Sells a course? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greg Gottfried | First month | 7 puzzle books | $7.89 | Not reported | Not stated |
| Subha Malik | August 2025 | 14 books, 214 units | $614.58 | $309.35 | Yes |
| Briana Belcher | About 4 years | 400+ journals | About $18,000 total | Not reported | Not stated |
| Kim George | Lifetime | 500+ books | $160,000+ total | Not reported | Yes |
| DannyOnDemand | December 2024 | 6,546 orders that month | $26,257.92 | $6,281 | Not stated |
The small start: $7.89 from seven puzzle books
Greg Gottfried's first month, written up by Niall Doherty on March 10, 2025, is the report most beginners should read first. Seven puzzle books earned $7.89. That is a normal first month, not a failure.
A 14-book catalog after ads: $305.19
Subha Malik's August 2025 breakdown (published September 7, 2025) shows 214 units and $614.58 in royalties from 14 books. Amazon ads cost $309.35, leaving $305.19. That works out to about $43.90 per book in royalties that month, or about $21.80 per book after ads, and the site sells courses.
Volume over years: $18,000 from 400+ journals
Briana Belcher's results, summarized on March 21, 2025, come to about $18,000 over roughly four years from more than 400 journals. That is about $45 per book across its whole life. Journals are not puzzle books, but the math of a big, thin catalog is the same.
The long game: $160,000+ from 500+ books
Kim George reports more than $160,000 in lifetime earnings from over 500 books, in an April 2026 post. She says a first $500 to $1,000 month within three to six months is realistic. She sells courses, so read that timeline as a best case from someone with years of practice.
The outlier: $26,257.92 in one December
DannyOnDemand reported $26,257.92 in royalties for December 2024 across 6,546 orders, with $6,281 spent on ads at a 25% ACOS. The same month a year earlier was $7,305.72. That is a real result, and it is also a December, the strongest month of the year for gift-friendly puzzle books.
Read course-sellers' numbers carefully
When someone who sells a publishing course posts an income report, the report is also marketing. The numbers can be true and still be the best month, the best catalog, or leave out ad and tool costs. Look for units sold, catalog size and ad spend, not only the royalty headline.
How much does a KDP puzzle book earn per sale?
A KDP paperback puzzle book earns its list price times the royalty rate, minus the printing cost. At $9.99 for a 100-page 6x9 book, that is $3.69 a sale; at $7.99 it is only $1.70. The rate itself changed in 2025, which makes the price you choose matter more than it used to.
The $9.99 royalty cliff
Since June 10, 2025, KDP pays a 60% royalty on paperbacks listed at $9.99 or more, and 50% on anything below $9.99 (V13 coverage; KDP help: printing cost). Printing is then subtracted.
For black-ink books on a regular trim like 6x9, printing is a flat $2.30 from 24 to 110 pages, then $1.00 plus $0.012 a page from 110 to 828 pages. A large 8.5x11 trim costs $2.84 flat from 24 to 110 pages.
| Book | List price | Rate | Printing | Royalty per sale |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 100 pages, 6x9 | $7.99 | 50% | $2.30 | $1.70 |
| 100 pages, 6x9 | $9.98 | 50% | $2.30 | $2.69 |
| 100 pages, 6x9 | $9.99 | 60% | $2.30 | $3.69 |
| 150 pages, 6x9 | $11.99 | 60% | $2.80 | $4.39 |
| 110 pages, 8.5x11 (large print) | $9.99 | 60% | $2.84 | $3.15 |
| 110 pages, 8.5x11 (large print) | $12.99 | 60% | $2.84 | $4.95 |
| 100 pages, 6x9, Expanded Distribution | $9.99 | 40% | $2.30 | $1.70 |
Look at the second and third rows. One cent of list price is worth $1.00 of royalty per copy, which is why $9.99 is the floor most puzzle publishers now use.
Pro Tip
If your book is priced at $8.99 or $9.49 from before June 2025, moving it to $9.99 raises the royalty rate on every copy. Test it on one title first and watch whether sales hold.

You can check your own numbers in the free KDP royalty calculator, which also shows the break-even price for your page count. Expanded Distribution pays only 40% and matters for bookstores, which we cover in the IngramSpark guide linked at the end.
How many copies does a puzzle book sell a month?
Amazon does not publish sales figures, so the best anyone can do is estimate from Best Sellers Rank (BSR). The estimates below come from a public BSR model and are rough. The same source notes that paperbacks sell roughly 0.3 times as many copies as ebooks at a comparable rank, so read these as generous for a paperback.
| Best Sellers Rank | Estimated sales per day | Estimated sales per month | Monthly royalty at $3.69 a sale |
|---|---|---|---|
| About 10,000 | About 6 | About 180 | About $664 |
| About 50,000 | About 1.2 | About 36 | About $133 |
| About 100,000 | About 0.3 to 0.6 | About 9 to 18 | About $33 to $66 |
Source for the rank-to-sales figures: BookBloom BSR calculator guide, model estimates only. The royalty column is our arithmetic using the $9.99, 100-page example above, before any ad spend.
This table is also why the reports above look the way they do. A book that holds a rank near 100,000 lands right in the $20 to $70 range, and staying there takes a real niche and steady reviews.
What top KDP puzzle book earners do differently
The publishers with steadier income share a few habits, and none of them is "upload more books faster." They pick a reader, build books that reader wants again, and time their releases to the calendar.
They publish series, not one-offs
A reader who finishes Volume 1 of a large-print word search looks for Volume 2. Naomi Jane's December 15, 2025 analysis points to series and large print as where repeat buyers come from.
They plan for the fourth quarter
DannyOnDemand's best report is a December, and it more than tripled the December before it. Gift-friendly puzzle books need to be live and reviewed before holiday shopping starts, which usually means publishing in early fall.
They lean into large print
Large-print editions on 8.5x11 cost a little more to print ($2.84 flat up to 110 pages) but serve readers who buy often. A $12.99 large-print book earns $4.95 a sale in the table above.
They treat ads as a cost, not a fix
Subha Malik's ads cost half of her royalties. DannyOnDemand ran a 25% ACOS, which is ad spend divided by the sales those ads produced at list price. Ads can scale a book that already converts; they rarely rescue one that does not.
They price for the royalty tier
At $9.99 and up, every sale earns the 60% rate. Almost every profitable example in this guide sits at or above that line.
Pro Tip
Before you publish a second book, look at your first book's reviews, sales trend and returns. If buyers are not finishing Volume 1, Volume 2 will not fix it.
Is the KDP puzzle book market too saturated?
It is crowded, and anyone who says otherwise is selling something. Kindlepreneur's December 2025 guide calls low-content books "hyper-competitive," and generic titles like "Word Search for Adults" compete with thousands of near-identical books.
Amazon has also tightened the rules. KDP has capped new title uploads at three per day since September 2023 (reported by Publishers Weekly), and it requires you to disclose AI-generated content when you publish. Both changes push against the flood-the-store approach.
What still works is specific. A narrow audience, a series the reader can follow, a clean large-print layout and puzzles that are actually good all hold up in the reports above. Vappingo's review of low-content income claims makes the same point: income claims need context, and the context is usually a lot of books and a lot of years.
How to make a puzzle book worth buying with the PuzzlePage Book Studio
A book worth buying has puzzles that work, a layout that passes KDP's checks and a clear reader in mind. The PuzzlePage Book Studio builds the whole interior (puzzles, answer keys, title page, margins) and the full-wrap cover in one place, and you can build and preview a complete book for free.
- Open the Book Studio and pick a template, such as Large-Print Word Search for Seniors or Sudoku: Easy to Expert.
- Choose your trim. Use 6x9 for standard books and 8.5x11 for large print, and set a large-print text size if your reader needs it.
- Replace the template's themes and word lists with your own so the book is specific to your reader.
- Check the page count against your price with the page count calculator and the royalty calculator.
- Preview every page, including the answer keys, before you download anything.
- Download the first 10 pages and the cover free to proof them; the full interior and cover print files need a Publisher plan.


The Studio checks margins and gutters for your trim and page count, which is where many first uploads get rejected. It does not do keyword research or pick your niche for you; that part is still your job.
Build and preview a complete puzzle book for free, then download the first 10 pages and the cover to proof it.
Build your book free →Sell the same book beyond Amazon
KDP is only one shelf. The same Studio build can become a printable PDF edition for Etsy, Gumroad, Payhip or Teachers Pay Teachers, and a second print edition for bookstores through IngramSpark. Each platform has its own fees and audience, so the per-sale math changes.
- One puzzle book, six places to sell it: the overview, with a fee comparison table and the full workflow.
- How to sell puzzle books on Etsy: listing steps, fee math and the Creativity Standards.
- How to sell puzzle books on Teachers Pay Teachers: classroom bundles and seller tiers.
- How to sell puzzle books on Gumroad: direct sales to your own audience.
- How to sell puzzle books on IngramSpark: bookstore distribution alongside KDP.
Free to try
Try the Book Studio free: first 10 pages and cover, no card
Build the whole book in your browser, watch the real printed pages as you go, and download the first 10 pages plus the cover to check them before you decide anything.
- ✓18 puzzle types with difficulty ramps and answer keys
- ✓KDP trim sizes and margins checked as you build
- ✓A matching full-wrap cover, spine included
- ✓Download the first 10 pages and the cover free
Build first, decide later. You only pay when you want the full interior.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much do KDP puzzle books make per month?
Most make very little. In public reports from 2024 to 2026, a well-run puzzle title earns roughly $20 to $70 a month, while first books often earn a few dollars. Publishers reporting thousands a month run catalogs of hundreds of books, and many spend heavily on ads.
How much does KDP pay per puzzle book sold?
KDP pays 60% of the list price at $9.99 and above, or 50% below $9.99, minus printing. A 100-page 6x9 black-ink paperback at $9.99 earns $3.69 per sale, and the same book at $7.99 earns $1.70.
Why should a KDP puzzle book be priced at $9.99?
Since June 10, 2025, KDP pays 60% at $9.99 or more and 50% below it. A 100-page book at $9.98 earns $2.69 a sale, while $9.99 earns $3.69, so one cent of price adds a dollar of royalty.
Are low-content puzzle books still profitable in 2026?
They can be, but the market is crowded and most titles earn little. The steadier earners publish series for a specific reader, favor large print, price at $9.99 or more and prepare for the fourth quarter holiday season.
How many copies does a puzzle book at BSR 100,000 sell?
Public BSR models estimate roughly 0.3 to 0.6 sales a day at a rank of about 100,000, or about 9 to 18 a month. These are model estimates, and paperbacks tend to sell fewer copies than ebooks at the same rank.
How much should I spend on Amazon ads for a puzzle book?
Start small and measure. One published report shows $309.35 in ads against $614.58 in royalties, which is half the income, while another ran a 25% ACOS. Ads help a book that already converts and rarely save one that does not.
Can I make a KDP puzzle book for free?
You can build and preview a complete puzzle book in the PuzzlePage Book Studio for free and download the first 10 pages and the cover to proof it. Downloading the full print-ready interior and cover files needs a paid Publisher plan, and KDP charges nothing to list a paperback.
More you can make here
One puzzle is the start. Here is the rest of the kit.

KDP Book Studio
Lay out a full puzzle book for Amazon KDP: templates, trim sizes, page checks and a cover designer.
Start a puzzle book
AI Puzzle Generator
Type a topic, get a themed word list and a finished puzzle. Premium also removes the footer credit and adds Word export.
Try the AI generator
NewWorksheet Builder
Put a word search, a cryptogram and a scramble on one page, or build a whole themed packet. Prints with answer keys.
Build a worksheet
Bubble Sheet Studio
Answer sheets for any test length, with sections, versions, student ID grids and a matching answer key.
Make a bubble sheetPublisher plans unlock full print-ready interiors and covers, with a commercial licence to sell every book.
See plans →Free daily games
Need a two-minute break? Today's puzzles are live.
A new Sudoku and a new Connections board every day. No download, no account.
Keep reading
Get 10 free puzzles
Get the free 10-puzzle pack
Enter your email and we'll send you 10 print-ready puzzles with answer keys, plus a heads-up when we publish new generators and seasonal puzzle packs. Same quality as the ones on this page.
Roughly two emails a month. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
Ready to build?
Build this book free in the PuzzlePage Book Studio
18 puzzle types, KDP margins and a full-wrap cover. Download the first 10 pages and the cover free.
Or start from a ready-made book template, or see books other publishers made here.
Enjoyed this? Share the puzzle on X
Like puzzles like this? Follow on Pinterest for a new one every day.
